Managing Career Transition Assistance Guideline

Career Transition Assistance (CTA) is a program for mature-age job seekers aged 45 years and over, providing practical assistance to increase employability and competitiveness in the local job market.

Job seekers aged 45 years and over are eligible to be Referred to CTA by their Employment Provider, New Employment Services Trial (NEST) Provider, or by the Department’s Digital Services Contact Centre (DSCC). Volunteer job seekers, without mutual obligation requirements, are also able to participate in CTA.

CTA Providers, Employment Providers and NEST Providers are expected to collaborate to ensure appropriate referrals and that each Participant achieves the maximum benefit possible.

CTA runs for 8 weeks and can be used to meet a job seeker’s mutual obligation requirements and will fully meet a job seeker’s Annual Activity Requirement during participation in CTA.

CTA commenced as a Trial in 5 Employment Regions and rolled out nationally on 1 July 2019. This Guideline applies to CTA Providers delivering services under the Career Transition Assistance Panel Deed 2019-2022 (the Deed) only. CTA Providers delivering services under the Career Transition Trial Panel Deed 2018-2022 should refer to the Delivering the Career Transition Assistance Trial Guideline.

Creation Date
Modified date
FOI Reference
Department of Education, Skills and Employment
Publication Category
Departmental document
English / Australian English

We aim to provide documents in an accessible format. If you're having problems accessing a document, please contact us for help.