

### The Hon Brendan O'Connor MP Minister for Skills and Training

The Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC Western Australia Minister for Education and Training

The Hon Dianne Farmer MP Queensland Minister for Training and Skills Development

The Hon Gayle Tierney MLC Victoria Minister for Higher Education, Training and Skills

> The Hon Alister Henskens SC MP New South Wales Minister for Skills and Training

The Hon Blair Boyer MP South Australia Minister for Education, Training and Skills

The Hon Roger Jaensch MP Tasmania Minister for Skills, Training and Workforce Growth

> Mr Chris Steel MLA Australian Capital Territory Minister for Skills

The Hon Paul Kirby MLA Northern Territory Minister for Business, Jobs and Training

# COMMUNIQUE

## **MEETING OF FEDERAL, STATE AND TERRITORY SKILLS MINISTERS**

Federal and State Skills and Training Ministers met today to reset negotiations on the National Skills Agreement, and strengthen Australia's TAFE and training sector.

Ministers agreed that cooperation on strengthening the skills sector is critical to addressing skills shortages and creating a more productive economy, and undertook to work together in a genuine partnership, and develop joint ambitions for our skills system.

All jurisdictions confront skills and labour shortages across multiple industries and workforce pressures.

According to the OECD, Australia is experiencing the second most severe labour shortage in the developed world.

Nine out of ten jobs of the future will require a vocational education and training (VET) qualification or a university degree.

The wide-ranging discussion made it clear that it is critical the Australian workforce is equipped with the right skills now and into the future.

Ministers committed to working in partnership to continue to grow the pipeline of skilled workers and prioritise skills reform through a collaborative and coordinated negotiation process.

## WEDNESDAY, 20 JULY 2022

### **MEDIA CONTACTS:**

**Minister O'Connor:** 

Erin Smith 0458 950 010 erin.smith@dese.gov.au

Minister Ellery: Phoebe Wearne 0408 784 145 phoebe.wearne@dpc.wa.gov.au

Minister Farmer: Emma Renwick 0456 604 189 emma.renwick@ministerial.qld.gov.au

Minister Tierney: Ben Ansell 0488 777 170 Ben.ansell@minstaff.vic.gov.au

Minister Henskens: Jordan Matthews 0409 317 892 Jordan.Matthews@minister.nsw.gov.au

Minister Boyer: Nadine De Bono 0487 878 077 Nadine.DeBono@sa.gov.au

Minister Jaensch: Sarah Aquilina 0431 059 957 sarah.aquilina@dpac.tas.gov.au

Minister Steel: Anton Gallacher 0422 574 108 anton.gallacher@act.gov.au

Minister Kirby: Will Zwar 0483 197 842 William.zwar@nt.gov.au