COMMUNIQUÉ

COMMUNIQUÉ FROM THE COAG SELECT COUNCIL ON WORKPLACE RELATIONS

The second meeting of the COAG Select Council on Workplace Relations (the Council) was held in Melbourne on 17 August 2012. The Council discussed the Post Implementation Review of the Fair Work Act 2009 Report; *Towards more productive and equitable workplaces: An evaluation of the Fair Work legislation* and its recommendations.

The Council noted that the federal Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations was currently consulting with stakeholders to inform the Government's response and with a view to possibly introducing legislation responding to some of the Review Panel's recommendations later this year. Ministers agreed that further discussion regarding the Review Panel's recommendations would occur among officials in the first instance.

The Council also reaffirmed the importance of delivering effective and accessible education and compliance services for employers and employees through funding to the Fair Work Ombudsman and bodies such as Community Based Employment Advisory Services.

The Council also noted the release by the federal Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations of the Asbestos Management Review Report and the Minister's intention to consult further with jurisdictions regarding the Reports' recommendations.

Attendees included:

- The Hon Bill Shorten MP, Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations (Cth)
- The Hon Jacinta Collins, Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Workplace Relations (Cth)
- The Hon Richard Dalla-Riva MLC, Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations (VIC)
- The Hon Jarrod Bleijie MP, Attorney-General and Minister for Justice (QLD)
- The Hon Russell Wortley MLC, Minister for Industrial Relations (SA)
- The Hon David O'Byrne MP, Minister for Workplace Relations (TAS)
- Dr Chris Bourke, MLA, Minister for Industrial Relations (ACT)
- Ms Vicki Telfer, Executive Director, NSW Industrial Relations (NSW proxy)

Apologies:

- The Hon Gordon Rich-Phillips MLC, Assistant Treasurer (VIC)
- The Hon Gregory Pearce MLC, Minister for Finance and Services (NSW)
- Dr Chris Burns MLA, Minister for Public Employment (NT)
- The Hon Daniel Robert Knight MLA, Minister for Justice and Attorney-General (NT)
- The Hon Simon O'Brien MLC, Minister for Commerce (WA)
- The Hon Kate Wilkinson MP, Minister of Labour (NZ)